« As kids prepare to march in Washington, this congressman is facilitator and consoler | Main | Parkland families push for progress in Washington before the March for Our Lives »

Pinellas sheriff, three parents named to 16-member Parkland shooting commission

Gov. Rick Scott led a 90-minute discussion of possible solutions to gun violence at the state Capitol. Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam is at left and Pinellas Sheriff Bob Gualtieri is at right. [Scott Keeler - Times]

Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri will lead a state commission investigating the missteps that led to the February massacre at Stoneman Douglas High School, Gov. Rick Scott announced Tuesday.

Joining Gualtieri on the commission are the fathers of three children killed in the  Feb. 14 shooting, along with sheriffs, police chiefs and school officials from around the state.

The creation of the Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Public Safety Commission was part of sweeping legislation in response to the massacre, which killed 14 students and three adults.

The commission was given broad powers to uncover the failures that led to the shooting and come up with recommendations on how to make schools safer, with a Jan. 1, 2019, deadline to produce an initial report.

Commissioners can subpoena records relating to the shooting, and it can compel witnesses to testify.

Here are the people appointed to the commission:

Ryan Petty, whose daughter, Aliana, was killed in the shooting.

Andrew Pollack, whose daughter, Meadow, was killed in the shooting.

Max Schachter, whose son, Alex, was killed in the shooting.

Pinellas County Sheriff Bob Gualtieri

State Sen. Lauren Book, D-Plantation

Brevard County Schools Superintendent Desmond Blackburn

Citrus County School Board member Douglas Dodd

Martin County School Board member Marsha Powers

Florida Department of Law Enforcement Commissioner Rick Swearingen

Okaloosa County Sheriff Larry Ashley

Polk County Sheriff Grady Judd

Miami Shores Police Chief Kevin Lystad

Auburndale Police Chief Chris Nelson

Indian River County Undersheriff James Harpring

Pinellas-Pasco Chief Assistant State Attorney Bruce Bartlett

Centerstone Florida CEO Melissa Larkin-Skinner