This blog has moved.

Please visit our new page here

« Miami Beach voters approve convention center hotel and $439 million in bonds | Main | Bill Nelson goes back to court Wednesday, challenging Florida’s election signature match law »

Ron DeSantis’ transition team includes Matt Gaetz, Richard Corcoran

DeSantis general victory
Governor elect Ron DeSantis takes the stage with his wife Casey after winning the election over Democrat Andrew Gillum. Photo by Chris Urso, Times Staff photographer

On Tuesday, former Congressman Ron DeSantis became Governor-Elect Ron DeSantis.

On Wednesday, the work began.

DeSantis announced the team that would lead his transition into the governor's mansion Wednesday afternoon.

It includes:

  • Executive Director Susie Wiles, who chaired DeSantis’ successful campaign
  • Deputy Executive Director Scott Parkinson, DeSantis’ former chief of staff
  • Congressman Matt Gaetz
  • Former Florida House Speaker Richard Corcoran — who initially endorsed DeSantis’ primary opponent early on in the race
  • Former U.S. Sen. George LeMieux
  • Former Lieutenant Governor Toni Jennings

Gaetz, Corcoran, LeMieux and Jennings will all serve as chairs on the transition team, according to a Wednesday press release.

"I'm confident these individuals will ensure our administration is ready to lead on day one to make our state cleaner, safer and stronger for all Floridians," DeSantis said in a release.