« Canes to play Wisconsin in Champs Sports Bowl | Main | Canes land JUCO tight end »

Sharpton, Fox share Canes' MVP award

Jason Fox didn't finish out the regular season the way he wanted to. But Fox, a player who made 47 career starts at offensive tackle for the Hurricanes, was still rewarded Sunday night by sharing the Jack Harding Team MVP Award with linebacker Darryl Sharpton.

It was only the fourth time in team history two players shared the award. Fox is only the second offensive lineman to win the award, joining Eric Winston (2005). Sharpton became the first linebacker to win the award since Dan Morgan shared it with Santana Moss in 2000.

It's hard to argue with Fox and Sharpton sharing it, especially after the final month of the season D-Money had for UM. 

Other winners

> Scout Team Player of the Year -- Offense: QB Spencer Whipple. Not sure we'll ever see Whipple on the field, but we heard a lot from his teammates about just how valuable he was.
> Scout Team Player of the Year – Defense: DB Cory Nelms. The walk-on from Neptune, NJ definitely earned it with his big hits.
> Hard Hitter Award: LB Darryl Sharpton. Vaughn Telemaque (Duke) and Ray Ray Armstrong (Oklahoma) had a few bone-jarring hits this season. But nobody was more consistent than D-Money. Remember what he did to that Clemson tight end? He does.
> Special Teams Player of Year: K/P Matt Bosher. From Jack Harding MVP to Special Teams Player of the Year. Just doesn't seem right for the Chuck Norris of Canes football.
> Strength Training Athlete of the Year: DE Allen Bailey. If you haven't walked into the weight room or seen the team records board, Bailey has his face all over it. No surprise here.
> Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player: CB Sam Shields and RT Matt Pipho. I'm going to go ahead and respectfully disagree. I would have given this one to Brandon Harris. The kid went from looking like a freshman to All-ACC First Team in a snap. 

 > Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award - Commitment, Consistency, Work Ethic: C A.J. Trump. Hard to argue here. Trump had two major injuries and provided a strong season for UM at center. It's too bad we didn't get to see more of him in his time at UM.
> Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award: LS Chris Ivory. He won it last year as a freshman. 

> U Miami Sports Hall of Fame Unsung Hero Award: FB/TE Tervaris Johnson. Great choice considering how valuable he became after Pat Hill went down. 

> Mariutto Family Scholarship Award for Academic Excellence: QB Jake Byrne. 

 > Plumer Award for Leadership, Motivation and Spirit: S Randy Phillips. He was the vocal leader of that defense, no doubt.
> Melching Leadership Award: RB Javarris James and DL Joe Joseph.

> Community Service Man of the Year Award: CB Ryan Hill and CB Chavez Grant. 

 > Newcomer of the Year Award: RB Mike James. James had a phenomenal freshman season. But I would have made him share the award with tight end Jimmy Graham, who was without question a great addition to the team.

> Training Room Comeback Player of the Year: TE Dedrick Epps and LB Colin McCarthy. No complaints here. Both of those guys made great comebacks from injuries.
> Hurricane Media “Good Guy” Award: QB Jacory Harris and S Randy Phillips. Nobody did more interviews than these guys.